• If you currently own, previously owned or want to own an Avalanche, we welcome you to become a member today. Membership is FREE, register now!

Transmission fluid flush, fluid change intervals, etc

dano

So I was looking for info and people's experiences on Royal Purple TRANS fluid as my Avvy is getting up there in miles.  What I found was a lot of discussion on fluids, flushing and service intervals.  I wanted to add my $.02 as a 47 year old owner who has owned over 50 vehicles and has worked on hundreds in the last 30+ years.
      I have a 2003 North Face Edition 1500 4x4 with 185,000 miles that I bought new.  10k of that is towing various things from relatively light jet skis to trailers with so much firewood on them I really had no business towing them.  I am a former GM technician (from the 90's) so I'm not in the game every day anymore but I still turn wrenches on a regular basis as I buy broken vehicles, fix and sell and also work on lots of other people's vehicles.  My truck is still going strong, no issues to date.  I have the TRANS flushed, yes flushed, every 30k.  I am 47 and have never had to take any of my vehicles to a dealership.  As a former master tech, I have always been able to figure out any issues on my own thanks to collaboration on fantastic forums like this one.  But I do take my vehicles to Jiffy Lube for their $99 TRANS or coolant flushes.

Two things to note: