• If you currently own, previously owned or want to own an Avalanche, we welcome you to become a member today. Membership is FREE, register now!

Do your saddlebag locks work?

Samsquanch

After reading the "do you lock your saddlebags" thread it reminded me of an issue that I accidentally discovered only a couple months ago... both my saddlebags unlock simply by pushing the lockset in like a button without the key inserted... I have NO idea how long they have been like that.  They still lock automatically when you close them.  I've had my Avy for 4 years now and thankfully never experienced a theft out of those storage compartments.  But I'd like to take a survey to see if this defect is something unique to my truck or if others out there are completely unaware that you can open them without a key. :B:

You have the key vertical when you remove?
pretty sure it is vertical to lock and horizontal is for unlocked.
I may have this mixed up but the orientation of the key determine if it is locked or simply latched.

When unlocked it latches and stays closed until you press in the lock and then they open.
Locked you can press all day and she will not open

YGMN is right...somewhat...lol

If you turn the key horizontal and remove the key...this LOCKS the saddle bag...and it should NOT open when you push on the lock.
If you turn the key vertical and remove key, then the saddle bags are unlocked, and will open when you push the lock.

Well crap I just realized something... I've NEVER been able to lock my saddlebags then... there was never the ability to turn the lock to the horizontal position.  I always just assumed you inserted the key and pushed up to unlock and open them.
Just now I tried to turn my keys left and right to lock and it won't let me... it never has.  It's the same for the left and right side.  Guess I'll have to look into this now.

Samsquanch said: