• If you currently own, previously owned or want to own an Avalanche, we welcome you to become a member today. Membership is FREE, register now!

Computer learns your driving style?

pepprdog

Here goes.... My first question in here.
Im a retired Mercedes-Benz tech so don't worry about going over my head with tech stuff.
I've looked but can't find this even though it's probably all over the forum.
Just got a pristine 2010 Avalanche LT with 24,000 miles. Love the way it drives!
I understand it's REALLY heavy and town driving really sucks fuel. I want to maximize its performance/fuel usage within reason financially. Started with a K&N filter just like every vehicle I own, 4-wheelers and all.
I've looked at the HP/torque curves on a lot of the tuners and they usually show increases from 3,500RPM and above.
I did see where the Hypertech has a big difference depending on the low/high octane fuel tunes.
Does the stock tune recognize the difference between 87 and 92/93 octane, giving better mileage with high test?
Does it use a knock sensor to adjust the timing?
If it does, does it use fuzzy logic type tuning adjustments that can be reset to factory zero (disconnect battery or through OBDII ) and then it adjust to higher octane tuning. I do have an OBDII set but this is my first GM product.
I like the cleaners used in most high test fuels and the fact it allows earlier timing IF the computer adjusts accordingly followed by better fuel economy.
Next.... is it worth the extra cost for the high test?

First off Welcome to Avalanche ownership and the club.

The stock tune will only go so far in performance and just adding higher octane fuel will only keep the detonation away and will probably return little or no increase in performance.